Homefil-ariane-sepThe Soucy experiencefil-ariane-sepSoucy: Well Represented at the “Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie”

Soucy: Well Represented at the “Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie”

June 10, 2016
FullSizeRender phot GDPL 2

The initial idea of forming a team Soucy for this important funds raising event came from Steve Fréchette, OEM program leader at Soucy International inc., Track Systems, Parts and Accessories. As the number of teams is limited to 200 by edition, places are almost impossible to obtain. Wishing to promote the name Soucy during the event, he decided in November to form a group of employees with various levels of experience, a common strong passion for the sport and who would participate to the GDPL for the first time. Yves St-Pierre, François Soucy, Julie Tremblay and Jasmin Villeneuve did not hesitate to embark on the adventure when Steve asked them to join him. There was only an RV driver missing to complete the team, follow them and give them the necessary technical support; a role accepted by his colleague, Pascal Lafrenière.

After a winter of indoor training and "spinning", the five cyclists now complete their final preparation on the road. They aimed at a goal of 1000 to 1500 km of training before the big departure, at a pace of at least 3 to 4 weekly sessions. This preparation is crucial, as they will have to ride 24 hours a day during the 4 days of the race taking turns at defined waypoints. During the day, teammates will take turns by group of two and at night, a single cyclist will ride in the light of his or her headlamp. Also, during their break, one of them will get behind the wheel of the recreational vehicle to let Pascal rest a little.

Except for the departure and the arrival of the challenge, the team will proudly be wearing Soucy’s colours through sponsored clothes. Their other partners/sponsors helped to gather the amount necessary to their registration and over $5000 that will be offered to the primary school Saint-Etienne in Drummondville under a sponsorship program. In addition to offering their donation, the six members of the Soucy team committed themselves to act as ambassadors for the Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie by participating in activities with the students. We congratulate each of them in advance for their achievement and for their beautiful involvement.

Accueilfil-ariane-sepLa vie chez Soucyfil-ariane-sepSoucy : bien représenté au Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie

Soucy : bien représenté au Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie

10 juin 2016
FullSizeRender phot GDPL 2

L’idée initiale de former une équipe Soucy pour cet important événement caritatif québécois est venue de Steve Fréchette, chef de programme chez Soucy International inc., Systèmes de chenilles, pièces et accessoires. Le nombre d’équipes participantes se limitant à 200 par édition, Steve s’est rapidement entouré, dès novembre dernier, de grands passionnés de vélo de tous les niveaux à travers le groupe pour faire rayonner le nom Soucy lors de l’événement. Yves St-Pierre, François Soucy, Julie Tremblay et Jasmin Villeneuve n’ont pas hésité à embarquer dans l’aventure quand Steve leur a demandé de se joindre à lui. Il ne manquait plus qu’un conducteur de VR pour les suivre et leur donner l’assistance technique nécessaire; un rôle accepté par son collègue, Pascal Lafrenière.

Après un hiver d’entraînement en salle et de « spinning », les cinq cyclistes achèvent maintenant leur préparation finale sur route. Ils se sont d’ailleurs donné un objectif de 1000 à 1500 km d’entraînement avant le grand départ, à raison d’un minimum de 3 à 4 séances hebdomadaires.  Cette préparation est cruciale, car ils devront rouler 24 heures sur 24 pendant les 4 jours du parcours en se relayant lors des différentes étapes. De jour, les coéquipiers se relaieront par groupe de deux, alors que de nuit, un seul cycliste roulera à la lueur de sa lampe frontale. Durant leur pause, l’un d’eux prendra le volant du véhicule récréatif pour permettre à leur accompagnateur,  Pascal, de se reposer.

Hormis le moment du départ et de l’arrivée du grand défi, l’équipe portera fièrement les couleurs Soucy grâce à des vêtements commandités par le groupe. Grâce à leurs autres partenaires/commanditaires, ils ont également pu amasser le montant nécessaire à leur inscription et plus de 5000 $ qu’ils remettront à l’école primaire Saint-Étienne de Drummondville en vertu d’un programme de parrainage. En plus d’offrir ce don, les membres de l’équipe Soucy se sont engagés à agir comme ambassadeurs du Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie en participant à des activités avec les jeunes élèves. Nous les félicitons à l’avance pour leur exploit et pour leur belle implication.